Export terminal · Ash Sharqiyah, Oman
Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal
Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal is an operating LNG export terminal in Ash Sharqiyah, Oman. The tracker lists 5 tracked units with 11.4 Mtpa operating, 3.8 Mtpa proposed, the earliest starting in 1999. Owners include ITOCHU Corp, Mitsui & Co., TotalEnergies and 8 others.
Operating
11.4 Mtpa
15.5 bcm/y · 4 units
Under construction
—
no units under construction
Proposed
3.8 Mtpa
5.17 bcm/y · 1 unit
At a glance
Trains and phases
Each row is one unit as tracked by GEM. Ordered by start year, then proposal year.
| Unit | Status | Capacity (Mtpa) | Capacity (bcm/y) | Start | Proposed | FID | Owner (as reported) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| T1 | Operating | 3.8 | 5.17 | 1999 | — | Not reported | ITOCHU Corp [0%]; Mitsui Group [2%]; TotalEnergies SE [5%]; Korea LNG [5%]; Mitsubishi Corp [2%]; PTTEP [2%]; Government of Oman [51%]; Shell PLC [30%] |
| T2 | Operating | 3.8 | 5.17 | 2000 | — | Not reported | ITOCHU Corp [0%]; TotalEnergies SE [5%]; Mitsui Group [2%]; Korea LNG [5%]; Mitsubishi Corp [2%]; PTTEP [2%]; Government of Oman [51%]; Shell PLC [30%] |
| T3 | Operating | 3.8 | 5.17 | 2006 | — | Not reported | Mitsubishi Corp [3%]; Oman LNG LLC [36%]; Osaka Gas Co Ltd [3%]; ITOCHU Corp [3%]; Government of Oman [46%]; Naturgy [7%] |
| Debottlenecking Project | Operating | Not reported | Not reported | 2023 | 2020 | Not reported | ITOCHU Corp [0%]; Mitsui Group [2%]; TotalEnergies SE [5%]; Korea LNG [5%]; Mitsubishi Corp [2%]; PTTEP [2%]; Government of Oman [51%]; Shell PLC [30%] |
| T4 | Proposed | 3.8 | 5.17 | — | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
Capacity by status
Owners and operators
Stakes as reported by GEM per unit, merged across units. Percentages are omitted where GEM does not give them.
Owners
- Government of Oman51%(4/5 units)
- Oman LNG LLC36%(1/5 units)
- Shell30%(3/5 units)
- Naturgy7%(1/5 units)
- Korea LNG5%(3/5 units)
- TotalEnergies5%(3/5 units)
- ITOCHU Corp3%(4/5 units)
- Mitsubishi Corp3%(4/5 units)
- Osaka Gas Co Ltd3%(1/5 units)
- Mitsui & Co.2%(3/5 units)
- PTTEP2%(3/5 units)
Parent companies
- Government of Oman65.6%(4/5 units)
- Shell30%(4/5 units)
- Naturgy7.4%(1/5 units)
- TotalEnergies5.5%(4/5 units)
- ITOCHU Corp3%(4/5 units)
- Mitsubishi Corp3%(4/5 units)
- Osaka Gas Co Ltd3%(1/5 units)
- Mitsui & Co.2.8%(3/5 units)
- PTT PCL2%(3/5 units)
- KOGAS1.2%(4/5 units)
- Hyundai Corp1%(4/5 units)
- Samsung1%(4/5 units)
Operators
Reported cost
Global Energy Monitor's estimated cost for each unit that reports one, converted to US dollars. Estimates at the date GEM last updated the unit, not adjusted for inflation.
| Unit | Status | Capacity | Estimated cost | Per tonne a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| T1 | Operating | 3.8 Mtpa | $1 billion | $263 |
| T2 | Operating | 3.8 Mtpa | $1 billion | $263 |
A unit with no cost reported is not shown, and the figures are never added across statuses. How the estimates compare is on project costs.
Location
Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal at 22.6586° N, 59.4075° E, with 2 tracked gas pipelines passing within 25 km.
Loads about 250 kB of map code and the country outline file.
- Coordinates
- 22.6586° N, 59.4075° E
- Coordinate accuracy (GEM)
- exact
- Open in OpenStreetMap
- View on map
Connected gas pipelines
Tracked pipelines whose route passes within 25 km of this terminal, or whose name matches it. Proximity is not proof of a physical connection.
| Pipeline | Status | Length | Capacity | Distance | Matched by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saih Rawl–Sur Gas Pipeline | Operating | 360 km | 12 bcm/y | 1 km | route proximity |
| Central Rich and Lean Gas Pipeline | Operating | 65 km | 6 bcm/y | 2.9 km | route proximity |
Vessels owned by the same companies
Ships in the tracker held by a company that also owns, operates or parents this terminal. A shared owner is not the same as a dedicated trade.
Exposed to chokepoints
Where cargoes from this terminal would normally pass a maritime chokepoint, by destination market.
| Destination | Chokepoints on the usual route | Alternative route |
|---|---|---|
| East Asia | Strait of Malacca | — |
| Europe | Bab el-MandebSuez Canal | Cape of Good Hope |
Routing is an editorial model of typical laden voyages, held in a hand-maintained lane table. It is not vessel tracking, and it does not account for diversions, canal draught limits, ice class or seasonal closures. See methodology, browse every chokepoint, or take the machine-readable exposure feed.
In the news
Recent headlines that name Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal. Matched by name, so it is approximate. Titles and links only; we store no article text.
Common questions
Generated from the same tracker fields as the tables above, so the two cannot disagree. Each answer stands on its own.
- Where is Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal?
- Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal is an LNG export terminal in Ash Sharqiyah, Oman. It is made up of 5 tracked trains and phases.
- Is Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal operating?
- Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal is operating, with its first tracked train starting in 1999.
- How much LNG can Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal handle?
- Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal has 11.4 Mtpa operating, 3.8 Mtpa proposed, equivalent to 15.5 bcm/y of gas a year in operation. Capacity at different statuses is never added together.
- Who owns Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal?
- Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal is owned by Government of Oman, Oman LNG LLC, Shell and 8 others, and operated by Oman LNG LLC. Shares are as recorded in the current tracker release.
- Which maritime chokepoints do cargoes from Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal pass?
- Cargoes from Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal would normally pass Strait of Malacca, Bab el-Mandeb, Suez Canal and Cape of Good Hope. This is an editorial model of typical laden voyages by destination market, not vessel tracking, and any individual cargo may go another way.
- What pipelines connect to Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal?
- 2 tracked gas pipelines pass within 25 km of Oman Qalhat LNG Terminal. Proximity is not proof of a physical connection; each match is listed with its distance.
In our rankings
Where this appears in the site's generated top lists. Each ranking page states its own method before its table.
Cite this page
Reuse is welcome; please name the page and the tracker release it draws on.