Import terminal · Primorje-Gorski Kotar, Croatia
Krk FSRU
Krk FSRU is an operating LNG import terminal (floating storage and regasification unit (FSRU)) in Primorje-Gorski Kotar, Croatia. The tracker lists 4 tracked units with 2.13 Mtpa operating, 2.35 Mtpa under construction, 3.01 Mtpa proposed, the earliest starting in 2021. Owners include HEP Grupa, Plinacro doo, LNG Croatia LLC and others.
Operating
2.13 Mtpa
2.9 bcm/y · 2 units
Under construction
2.35 Mtpa
3.2 bcm/y · 1 unit
Proposed
3.01 Mtpa
4.09 bcm/y · 1 unit
At a glance
Trains and phases
Each row is one unit as tracked by GEM. Ordered by start year, then proposal year.
| Unit | Status | Capacity (Mtpa) | Capacity (bcm/y) | Start | Proposed | FID | Owner (as reported) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not reported | Operating | 1.91 | 2.6 | 2021 | 2015 | FID | HEP Grupa [85%]; Plinacro doo [15%] |
| 2022 Capacity Expansion | Operating | 0.22 | 0.3 | 2022 | — | Not reported | HEP Grupa [85%]; Plinacro doo [15%] |
| Phase 2 Expansion (Onshore) | Proposed | 3.01 | 4.1 | — | 2022 | Not reported | LNG Croatia LLC |
| Phase 1 Expansion | Under construction | 2.35 | 3.2 | — | — | FID | LNG Croatia LLC |
Capacity by status
| Status | Units | Mtpa | bcm/y |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating | 2 | 2.13 | 2.9 |
| Under construction | 1 | 2.35 | 3.2 |
| Proposed | 1 | 3.01 | 4.09 |
Owners and operators
Stakes as reported by GEM per unit, merged across units. Percentages are omitted where GEM does not give them.
Owners
- HEP Grupa85%(2/4 units)
- Plinacro doo15%(2/4 units)
- LNG Croatia LLC(2/4 units)
Parent companies
- HEP Grupa85%(2/4 units)
- Plinacro doo15%(2/4 units)
- LNG Croatia LLC(2/4 units)
Operators
- Golar LNG Ltd(2/4 units)
Reported cost
Global Energy Monitor's estimated cost for each unit that reports one, converted to US dollars. Estimates at the date GEM last updated the unit, not adjusted for inflation.
| Unit | Status | Capacity | Estimated cost | Per tonne a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not reported | Operating | 1.91 Mtpa | $255 million233,600,000 EUR as reported | $133 |
| Phase 1 Expansion | Under construction | 2.35 Mtpa | $27.3 million25,000,000 EUR as reported | $12 |
Financing as GEM records it: Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) grant (2014) of €4,758,382 (US$5,788,847),CEF grant (2015) of €514,994 (US$626,528),CEF grant (2016) of €747,000 (US$908,849),CEF grant (2016) of €101,400,000 (US$111.2 million),Croatian government grant of €100 million (US$109.4 million),Equity investment of €32.2 million (US$35.3 million) from HEP and Plinacro · €25 million from the European Commission
A unit with no cost reported is not shown, and the figures are never added across statuses. How the estimates compare is on project costs.
Location
Krk FSRU at 45.2005° N, 14.5338° E, with 7 tracked gas pipelines passing within 25 km.
Loads about 250 kB of map code and the country outline file.
- Coordinates
- 45.2005° N, 14.5338° E
- Coordinate accuracy (GEM)
- exact
- Open in OpenStreetMap
- View on map
Connected gas pipelines
Tracked pipelines whose route passes within 25 km of this terminal, or whose name matches it. Proximity is not proof of a physical connection.
| Pipeline | Status | Length | Capacity | Distance | Matched by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omišalj-Zlobin-Bosiljevo-Sisak-Kozarac-Slobodnica LNG main evacuation pipeline | Operating | 18 km | 2.63 bcm/y | 2.2 km | route proximity |
| Omišalj-Zlobin-Bosiljevo-Sisak-Kozarac-Slobodnica LNG main evacuation pipeline | Operating | 58 km | 1.84 bcm/y | 2.2 km | route proximity |
| Omišalj-Zlobin-Bosiljevo-Sisak-Kozarac-Slobodnica LNG main evacuation pipeline | Proposed | 102 km | 1.84 bcm/y | 2.2 km | route proximity |
| Omišalj-Zlobin-Bosiljevo-Sisak-Kozarac-Slobodnica LNG main evacuation pipeline | Proposed | 20 km | 1.84 bcm/y | 2.2 km | route proximity |
| Bosiljevo–Rjeka Gas Pipeline | Operating | 81 km | — | 15.5 km | route proximity |
| Rijeka–Pula Gas Pipeline | Operating | 95 km | — | 17.7 km | route proximity |
| Kalce-Kastav Gas Pipeline | Shelved | 63 km | — | 23.6 km | route proximity |
Supplied via
Chokepoints that cargoes arriving at this terminal typically cross, based on where its region is supplied from.
Atlantic-basin supply from the United States crosses no chokepoint, which is why the European exposure figure is lower than it looks.
Routing is an editorial model of typical laden voyages, held in a hand-maintained lane table. It is not vessel tracking, and it does not account for diversions, canal draught limits, ice class or seasonal closures. See methodology, browse every chokepoint, or take the machine-readable exposure feed.
In the news
Recent headlines that name Krk FSRU. Matched by name, so it is approximate. Titles and links only; we store no article text.
Common questions
Generated from the same tracker fields as the tables above, so the two cannot disagree. Each answer stands on its own.
- Where is Krk FSRU?
- Krk FSRU is an LNG import terminal in Primorje-Gorski Kotar, Croatia. It is made up of 4 tracked trains and phases.
- Is Krk FSRU operating?
- Krk FSRU is operating, with its first tracked train starting in 2021.
- How much LNG can Krk FSRU handle?
- Krk FSRU has 2.13 Mtpa operating, 2.35 Mtpa under construction, 3.01 Mtpa proposed, equivalent to 2.9 bcm/y of gas a year in operation. Capacity at different statuses is never added together.
- Who owns Krk FSRU?
- Krk FSRU is owned by HEP Grupa, Plinacro doo and LNG Croatia LLC, and operated by Golar LNG Ltd. Shares are as recorded in the current tracker release.
- Which maritime chokepoints do cargoes from Krk FSRU pass?
- Cargoes from Krk FSRU would normally pass Strait of Gibraltar, Suez Canal, Bab el-Mandeb and Danish Straits. This is an editorial model of typical laden voyages by destination market, not vessel tracking, and any individual cargo may go another way.
- What pipelines connect to Krk FSRU?
- 7 tracked gas pipelines pass within 25 km of Krk FSRU. Proximity is not proof of a physical connection; each match is listed with its distance.
Cite this page
Reuse is welcome; please name the page and the tracker release it draws on.